How to Eliminate Wait Events in Oracle Database?

13 05 2011

May 13, 2011

In the last couple of days I have been busy with a couple of non-Oracle Database specific tasks, and I started wondering what types of wait events I might be posting during this time period if I had to report what I was doing.  Waiting on the server to reboot for the 20th time during a software deployment, waiting for replacement hard drives to be shipped, waiting for the darn technology gadgets to download a file or recover from the latest force close (a nice way of saying CRASH!), waiting for a software vendor to return a call, waiting for thoughts to magically appear on PowerPoint slides, etc.

While I was processing all of these wait events, I noticed a couple of recent search keywords being used to find pages on my blog.  One of the sets of search keywords included:
How to Eliminate Wait Events Oracle

I know that I covered that topic in an earlier blog article, but I thought that I would open this topic again for discussion.

While we are at it, let’s try to answer a couple of additional sets of search keywords that lead people to blog articles on this site:
How to Determine Why a CPU is Busy
How to Stop Dead Locks in Oracle

Just a fair warning – the first result returned by a search engine is not necessarily the result that you want in a production environment.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers